Faculty & Staff

Meet the faculty and staff of the College of Education and Human Development's three departments and school (School for Global Inclusion and Social Development).

Dean's Office

Laura Hayden
Interim Dean and Associate Professor, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.4034
Laura.Hayden@umb.edu

Sheila L. Fesko
Associate Dean and Director, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development; Program Manager, Institute for Community Inclusion

617.287.4365
Sheila.Fesko@umb.edu

Denise McNair
Assistant Dean, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7672
Denise.McNair@umb.edu

Angela (Angi) K. Stone-MacDonald
Associate Dean for Grants and Research and Associate Professor, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7316
Angela.Stone@umb.edu

Bernice Fair
Executive Assistant to the Dean, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7606
Bernice.Fair@umb.edu

Bwanda Gerome
Manager of Field Placements, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7352
Bwanda.Gerome@umb.edu

Tyra Lopes Mendes
Director of Faculty Support Services, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7669
Tyra.Mendes@umb.edu

Gary YF Chan
Database/Web Manager, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7256
Gary.Chan@umb.edu

Aimee D’Avignon
Director, Office of Student Success, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7492
Aimee.Davignon@umb.edu

Jennifer Wood
Associate Director, Office of Student Success, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7610
Jennifer.Wood@umb.edu

Theresa Norberg
Academic Advisor, Office of Student Success, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7625
Theresa.Norberg@umb.edu

Thien Nguyen
Student Success Specialist, Office of Student Success, College of Education and Human Development

617-287-7233
Thien.Nguyen@umb.edu

Department of Counseling and School Psychology

Gonzalo Bacigalupe
Professor of Counseling and School Psychology, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7631
Gonzalo.Bacigalupe@umb.edu

Stacy Bender
Associate Professor of Counseling and School Psychology, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.3167
Stacy.Bender@umb.edu

Amy Cook
Department Chair, Associate Professor, and Graduate Program Director of Counseling, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7585
Amy.Cook@umb.edu

Joseph N. Cooper
J. Keith Motley Endowed Chair of Sport Leadership and Administration

N/A
JosephN.Cooper@umb.edu

Lisa Cosgrove
Professor of Counseling and School Psychology, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7748
Lisa.Cosgrove@umb.edu

Brian Daniels
Assistant Professor of Counseling and School Psychology, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.6394
Brian.Daniels@umb.edu

Lindsay Fallon
Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director of the School Psychology PhD Program, College of Education of Human Development

617.287.7613
Lindsay.Fallon@umb.edu

Emily Giannotti
Admissions and Practicum Coordinator, Department of Counseling and School Psychology, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.5835
Emily.Giannotti@umb.edu

Laura Hayden
Interim Dean and Associate Professor, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.4034
Laura.Hayden@umb.edu

Sharon Horne
Professor of Counseling Psychology, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7495
Sharon.Horne@umb.edu

Sharon Lamb
Graduate Program Director, and Professor of Counseling and School Psychology, College of Education and Human Development​

617.287.7698
Sharon.Lamb@umb.edu

Boaz Levy
Associate Professor of Counseling and School Psychology, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7409
Boaz.Levy@umb.edu

Esmaeil Mahdavi
Senior Lecturer in Counseling and School Psychology, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7641
Esmaeil.Mahdavi@umb.edu

Andre V. Maharaj
Lecturer and Graduate Program Director of Applied Behavior Analysis for Special Populations Certificate, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7609
Andre.Maharaj@umb.edu

Katie McMullin
Administrative Assistant, Counseling and School Psychology Department, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7602
Katie.McMullin@umb.edu

Takuya Minami
Associate Professor of Counseling and School Psychology, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7619
Takuya.Minami@umb.edu

Tracy Paskiewicz
Senior Lecturer and Graduate Program Director of the School Psychology MEd/EdS Program, Department of Counseling and School Psychology, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7595
Tracy.Paskiewicz@umb.edu

Melissa Pearrow
Professor of Counseling and School Psychology, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7624
Melissa.Pearrow@umb.edu

Timothy Poynton
Associate Professor of Counseling and School Psychology, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.3326
Tim.Poynton@umb.edu

Allison B Smith
Assistant Professor of Sport Leadership and Administration

N/A
Allison.Smith6@umb.edu

Carola Suárez-Orozco
Distinguished Professor of Counseling & School Psychology

617-287-7749
Carola.orozco@umb.edu

Kerrie Wilkins-Yel
Assistant Professor of Counseling and School Psychology, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7608
Kerrie.Wilkins@umb.edu

Department of Curriculum and Instruction

Mona Abo-Zena
Assistant Professor of Early Childhood Education and Care, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7614
Mona.AboZena@umb.edu

Serra Acar
Assistant Professor of Early Childhood Education and Care, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.3873
Serra.Acar@umb.edu

Joan Arches
Professor of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7288
Joan.Arches@umb.edu

Paloma Britt
Administrative Assistant, Curriculum and Instruction Department, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7591
Paloma.Britt@umb.edu

Tejaswini S. Dalvi
Assistant Professor of Science Education, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.4842
Tejaswini.Dalvi@umb.edu

Christopher B. Denning
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Associate Professor, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.6539
Christopher.Denning@umb.edu

Anne Douglass
Professor, Founder and Executive Director, Program Director, Bachelor’s and Post Master’s Certificate Programs in Early Education and Care, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7675
Anne.Douglass@umb.edu

Moira Downes
Administrative Assistant, Curriculum and Instruction Department, College of Education and Human Development

617-287-7942
Moira.Downes@umb.edu

Arthur Eisenkraft
Distinguished Professor of Science Education; Director of the Center of Science and Math in Context (COSMIC), College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7652
Arthur.Eisenkraft@umb.edu

Rona Flippo
Professor of Literacy, College of Education and Human Development

617-287-7635
Rona.Flippo@umb.edu

Bwanda Gerome
Manager of Field Placements, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7352
Bwanda.Gerome@umb.edu

Michael Gilbert
Associate Professor of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7647
Mike.Gilbert@umb.edu

Lisa Gonsalves
Associate Professor, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7642
Lisa.Gonsalves@umb.edu

Rebecca Hogue
Lecturer in Instructional Design

N/A
Rebecca.hogue@umb.edu

Frances Keefe
Lecturer Instructional Design Graduate Program

N/A
Fran.Keefe@umb.edu

Janna Jackson Kellinger
Associate Professor, College of Education and Human Development/Curriculum and Instruction

617.287.5972
Janna.Kellinger@umb.edu

Apostolos Koutropoulos
Online Program Manager, Applied Linguistics Program, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.5990
A.Koutropoulos@umb.edu

Lusa Lo
Associate Professor of Special Education, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.6234
Lusa.Lo@umb.edu

Christopher C. Martell
Associate Professor of Social Studies Education, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.3874
Christopher.Martell@umb.edu

Kristin Murphy
Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director of Special Education, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.4516
Kristin.Murphy@umb.edu

Denise Patmon
Associate Professor of Education, Director of Boston Writing Project, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7618
Denise.Patmon@umb.edu

Patricia Paugh
Associate Professor of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7586
Patricia.Paugh@umb.edu

Lianna Pizzo
Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director of Early Childhood Education, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.4517
Lianna.Pizzo@umb.edu

Carol Ann Sharicz
Faculty Member, Instructional Design, Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.5984
Carol.Sharicz@umb.edu

Gene Shwalb
Senior Instructional Designer

617.287.3091
Gene.Shwalb@umb.edu

Asgedet Stefanos
Associate Professor of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7363
Asgedet.Stefanos@umb.edu

Angela (Angi) K. Stone-MacDonald
Associate Dean for Grants and Research and Associate Professor, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.7316
Angela.Stone@umb.edu

Jeremy Szteiter
Assistant Director of Critical and Creative Thinking, College of Education and Human Development

617-287-7636
Jeremy.Szteiter@umb.edu

Songtian (Tim) Zeng
Assistant Professor of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education and Human Development & Director of Research, Institute for Early Education Leadership & Innovation

206.569.5110
songtian.zeng@umb.edu

Department of Leadership in Education

Bodunrin O. Banwo
Assistant Professor, Urban Education, Leadership, and Policy Studies & Educational Administration

617.287.3163
bodunrin.banwo@umb.edu

Joseph B. Berger
Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs; Professor of Education

617.287.7600
Joseph.Berger@umb.edu

Monnica Chan
Assistant Professor, Higher Education

617.287.3164
monnica.chan@umb.edu

Cheryl D. Ching
Assistant Professor, Higher Education

617.287.3263
Cheryl.Ching@umb.edu

Amy E. Collinsworth
Graduate Program Manager and Assistant to the Department Chair, Leadership in Education

617.287.4026
Amy.Collinsworth@umb.edu

Jay Dee
Professor of Higher Education

617.287.7694
Jay.Dee@umb.edu

Abiola Farinde-Wu
Graduate Program Director, Assistant Professor of Urban Education, Leadership, and Policy Studies

617.287.7351
Abiola.Farinde@umb.edu

Stefani Harvey
Instructor, Department of Leadership in Education

n/a
stefani.harvey001@umb.edu

Patricia Krueger-Henney
Associate Professor, Urban Education, Leadership and Policy Studies

617.287.4847
Patricia.Krueger@umb.edu

Tara L. Parker
Chair of the Department of Leadership in Education, Professor, Higher Education

617.287.7728
Tara.Parker@umb.edu

Shantal Petrie
Administrative Assistant, Leadership in Education

617.287.7601
Shantal.Petrie@umb.edu

Katalin Szelényi
Graduate Program Director, Associate Professor, Higher Education

617.287.7765
Katalin.Szelenyi@umb.edu

Liza A. Talusan
Associate Instructor, Department of Leadership in Education

N/A
Liza.Talusan@umb.edu

Casel Walker
Graduate Program Director, Instructor, Educational Administration Program

617.287.4848
Casel.Walker@umb.edu

Wenfan Yan
Professor, Urban Education, Leadership, and Policy Studies Program

617.287.4873
WenFan.Yan@umb.edu

School for Global Inclusion and Social Development

Sheila L. Fesko
Associate Dean and Director, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development; Program Manager, Institute for Community Inclusion

617.287.4365
Sheila.Fesko@umb.edu

Kaitlyn Siner-Cappas
Program Manager, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development; Graduate Program Director, Global Inclusion and Social Development MA/PhD

617.287.3070
Kaitlyn.Siner@umb.edu

Laura Bozeman
Professor and Director of Vision Studies, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.4385
Laura.Bozeman@umb.edu

Callie M. Brusegaard
Director, Northeast Resource Center for Vision Education, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development

617.287.7645
Callie.Brusegaard@umb.edu

Dolly Daftary
Associate Professor, International Development, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development

617.287.4769
Dolly.Daftary@umb.edu

David B. Hershenson
Senior Lecturer, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development

617.566.3124
David.Hershenson@umb.edu

Meghan Kallman
Associate Professor, International Development, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development

617.287.4292
Meghan.Kallman@umb.edu

Valerie L. Karr
Associate Professor, International Development, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development

617.287.4336
Valerie.Karr@umb.edu

Peter Kiang (江念祖)
Professor and Director of Asian American Studies, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development, College of Education and Human Development

617.504.4107
Peter.Kiang@umb.edu

Paula Kosior
Program Coordinator, O&M Program, Vision Studies, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development

617.287.7584
Paula.Kosior@umb.edu

Sindiso Mnisi Weeks
Associate Professor, Public Policy of Excluded Populations, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development

617.287.4379
Sindiso.MnisiWeeks@umb.edu

Daniel Norris
Program Coordinator, VRT Program, Vision Studies, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development

802.272.1626
Daniel.Norris@umb.edu

Maria Paiewonsky
Transition Specialist, Institute for Community Inclusion, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development

617.287.7697
Maria.Paiewonsky@umb.edu

Dimity Peter
Associate Professor, Rehabilitation Counseling, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development

617.287.4316
Dimity.Peter@umb.edu

Tammy Reisman
Program Coordinator, TVI Program, Vision Studies, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development

617.287.7668
Tammy.Reisman@umb.edu

James Soldner
Associate Professor, Graduate Program Director, Rehabilitation Counseling, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development

617.287.7703
James.Soldner@umb.edu

Lakshmi Srinivas
Associate Professor of Asian American Studies, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development, College of Education and Human Development

N/A
lakshmi.srinivas@umb.edu

Shirley S. Tang
Professor of Asian American Studies, School for Global Inclusion and Social Development, College of Education and Human Development

N/A
Shirley.Tang@umb.edu

J. Cedric Woods
Director, Institute for New England Native American Studies
Director, Critical Ethnic and Community Studies Program

617.287.5784
Cedric.Woods@umb.edu